Featured Supplier – Sarah Wants Stationery

I met the lovely Sarah, of Sarah Wants Stationery at the WED Show last month. I wanted to find out more about this rustic, Cornwall based stationery company!

Rustic Wedding Stationery

When did you start your business, and what was your inspiration?

I started my business in 2012, which is also the year I got married. I was engaged for 3 years and spent most of them immersed in the wonderful world of wedding mania and loved it! From a young age I have had a passion for being creative with fabric and paper. I always made my own cards, cushions and household bits and pieces.

Owl Themed Wedding Stationery

I am lucky enough to also help teach sewing and craft classes at my friends’ workshop in Hayle called Threads. I have a degree in Interior design and did a surface pattern course which got me hooked. I decided to use fabric in my work and cut out pieces of pretty floral materials to create cute little scenes with sayings. I thought they were whimsical & romantic and perfect for wedding stationery, so voila; Sarah Wants was born.

Country Wedding Stationery

Who works ‘behind the scenes’?

Just little old me! I do everything; from the designing to the accounting and photography and anything in between! My lovely husband works in IT, so he is a great help when it comes to the website and all the technical stuff which means I have more time to concentrate on being creative!

Cupcake Wedding Stationery

How would you describe your business ethos? What do you hope to achieve?

In a nutshell, my number 1 aim is to create stationery that makes people smile. I’d like to think that one of my invitation designs will be on someone’s fridge or pinned to a board for a few months before a wedding and every time the guest glances at it, it will brighten up their day! I also like to provide a personal service to a couple, none of this; send me your words and you get your invitations in the post! I enjoy a bit of wedding chat with a couple and finding out about them and their day and having their input into the design. I get to make a lot of nice friends in my line of work!

Rustic Wedding Stationery

Do you offer an ‘off the peg’ range? Can I commission a bespoke design?

I have a collection of designs on my website which can be ordered and personalised. The collection consists of a variety of themes such as love birds, vintage tea party, owls and a very country wedding; I like to create something for everyone. I can also create a bespoke design for an extra fee, which I absolutely love to do!

Rustic Wedding Stationery

Can I request a sample?

Samples can be ordered from the gallery page on the website, they are £1.95 and include a folded invitation, envelope (which are all 100% recycled by the way!) and a place name card.

Floral Rustic Wedding Stationery

Can I find you at any events this year?

I will be attending the Save the Date event on April 14th in Nottingham and again on October 13th in Derby. It is said to be the wedding event with a difference and I truly believe it is going to be – I can’t wait! I do have some free tickets available; if anyone is interested please email me.

Rustic Wedding Stationery

Where do you hope the business will take you in the future?

I would love to one day get an award for my wedding stationery; that would just be a dream come true! I’d also like to branch into greetings cards and other papery goods in the future. It is my aim to one day have my very own studio in the garden with a studio cat and my piano. That is when I’ll be able to sit back and think I have truly made it, but until then; work, work, work to get there!

Love Bird Wedding Stationery

If you’d like to find out more about Sarah Wants, then you can find her here –

Company Website

‘Like’ on Facebook

‘Follow’ on Twitter

L x

About dottyvintage

Love Vintage, Love Weddings

What do you think?

