WED Magazine Wedding Fair – Event Review

On Sunday, I was lucky enough to attend the annual WED Magazine Wedding Fair at the Headland Hotel in Newquay. The event brought together some of the South West’s most talented and exciting wedding suppliers, ranging from florists, cake designers and jewellery makers, through to wedding dresses, transport and beauty. 

As a blogger and bride to be, I adore wedding events, because I can absorb inspiration for both my own wedding next year, along with  keeping up to date with wedding trends and suppliers within the region. If you missed my live blog posts from the day, then you catch up here –

Live Blog One

Live Blog Two

Here’s my bumper review from the event, with some of my favourite finds on the day. As I mentioned, the event was hosted at the Headland Hotel in Newquay which is situated just next to Fistral Beach, and commands a breathtaking view over the sea. The hotel felt welcoming and warm on the bitter March morning.

Headland Hotel

Fleurtations Flowers operate from Bodmin, Cornwall, but cover the majority of Cornwall. I particularly liked the use of purple geraniums for the table displays. It seems to me that a lot of wedding suppliers are starting to branch out in their creativity and are pushing the boundaries of tradition.

Fleurtations Flowers

Fleurtations Flowers

wedfayre4

The WED Magazine fair had an electric atmosphere, with both the exhibitors and brides clearly excited to be there. The addition of live music at events such as these can often be overlooked, but it added a great vibe; I particularly appreciated the trilby-wearing piano chap.

wedfayre5

Laura Likes Bespoke Wedding Stationery is run by the lovely (did you see this coming?) …. Laura! She has an adorable range of designs to choose from – keep an eye out for an extended feature post on Dotty Vintage Weddings soon!

Laura Likes Wedding Stationery

Laura Likes

Laura Likes

The last time I saw Anna, of Anna de Souza Designs, was at the Fabulous Wedding Festival, where she was rushed off her feet as part of the catwalk in the Big Top Tent! The rain was hammering down outside, so I must admit, it was nice to have a civilised conversation in a warm and toasty room indoors this time!

Anna de Souza

Anna de Souza

Anna de Souza

Escential Blooms are based just a few miles away from Dotty Vintage Weddings HQ. They had one of the prettiest table displays, with some adorable floral name cards, and heaps of pretty vintage crockery.

Escential Blooms

Escential Blooms

Escential Blooms

I really love the use of dried flowers as confetti, rather than the horrible manufactured rubbish that you can purchase. The floral and lace confetti cones are also a lovely touch. And don’t forget, this is likely to be a venue-friendly option too, as most request biodegradable confetti only.

Escential Blooms

Escential Blooms

I spent some of the day with my lovely bridal designer, Annalise Harvey. Something that really stood out for me was the difference between a designer’s stall, like Annie’s, compared to some of the traditional bridal boutiques. It was lovely being able to look through Annie’s sketchbook, following her thought processes, you could flick through catalogues of lace and fabrics, showing how the possibilities really are endless when it comes to a bespoke wedding dress. Annie’s stall was minimalistic,  but it said everything it needed to – the quality and passion behind every design was clear to see.

Annalise Harvey

Annalise Harvey

Annalise Harvey

Annalise Harvey

Annie’s stall was next door to my favourite Cornish milliner, Holly Young Hats, who inspires me every time I see her.

Holly Young Hats

I treated myself to a little tour of the bedrooms at the Headland Hotel, of course. I found this beautiful dress in one of the guest rooms but I couldn’t find any information on the designer, or where it came from! The dress was intricately constructed and I would be delighted to find out more about it if anyone knows! Answers on a postcard…

Headland Hotel

Headland Hotel

Headland Hotel

Headland Hotel

Back to the lovely exhibitors now… I was super excited to finally meet Sarah, of Sarah Drew Jewellery and I was honestly overwhelmed with how special her pieces really were. Sarah and I have tweeted in the past, but it was great to finally put a face to a Twitter name! Sarah offers a range of jewellery, but her bespoke and quirky headpieces really stood out for me.

Sarah Drew

Sarah Drew

There was a huge buzz around one of the stalls when I first arrived, and it didn’t surprise me that it belonged to Emily Hankins Cakes. Emily is based in Cornwall, and produces hand-painted, bespoke wedding cakes. Every bride to be that placed their eyes on Emily’s designs were hugely impressed, and you can see more examples of her work in her Dotty Vintage Weddings feature.

Emily Hankins Cakes

Emily Hankins Cakes

Kernow Spa

Anwen Jones Florist

Anwen Jones Florist certainly know how to put together an impressive stand, with a huge range of visual inspiration and beautiful blooms. The vintage keys and paper roses are so cute!

Anwen Jones Florist

Anwen Jones Florist

Sarah Wants

I also met another lovely Sarah at the event. Sarah Wants Stationery is described as Wonderful Whimsical Wedding Stationery, and I’d be absolutely inclined to agree!

Sarah Wants

I had the most fabulous day, meeting a huge range of suppliers and would like to extend a personal congratulations to the team at WED for putting on a hugely successful event.

L x

About dottyvintage

Love Vintage, Love Weddings

12 comments

  1. petasvintageblog

    I now want to get married…now I want all of those things! Lovely post 🙂 wish I could have attended! xx

  2. Anna D'Souza

    Lovely post x

  3. It was such a great day! Great post Dotty – we loved having you there!!

  4. Thanks for the feedback lovely people 🙂

  5. Nice to meet you Laura! Thanks for taking some photos and featuring me in your post. I’m sure I’ll catch up with you somewhere soon lovely. X

  6. I really enjoyed reading your blog! It was a super day and I thoroughly enjoyed chatting to all the lovely brides-to-be and catching up with old friends and making new ones.
    It’s a shame I didn’t get to meet you but hopefully I will in the near future.
    Warmest regards,

    Kirsty x

    • Hi Kirsty,

      Many thanks for your comment. Sorry we missed each other – it was super busy! I’ll keep an eye out for you at some other events, and hopefully we’ll meet soon!

      Laura xx

  7. Ooh, what a lovely blog! Thank you so much Laura for including Escential Blooms and Too Pretty By Far in your review of The wed Show. It was a thoroughly enjoyable day and I met some lovely people. Fabulous pictures too.

    Kirsty x

  8. Great coverage of a brilliant day. So many lovely brides and suppliers. Thank you for your kind comments too! Anwen x

  9. Pingback: Featured Supplier – Sarah Wants Stationery | {Dotty Vintage Weddings} Vintage Wedding & Style Blog

What do you think?

