DIY Craft Tutorial by eLei – Wedding Favours

Here’s a fabulous DIY craft tutorial for the thrifty bride by the wonderful eLei. But first, a little bit about the designer…

“My love for graphic design began after college – having received my communication arts degree, I worked for a television network in 2000. It was in this job that I did a lot of learning and training in the field of broadcast design.  I was also featured in a book by a classmate of mine in college – ”Survival: Your Guide to Life” where I shared my thoughts about life and work.  This helped to unleash my inner survivor by sharing my thoughts to others

I then decided to work overseas at a custom print shop and stationery store in 2006 where I found my true artistic passion.  Since then I have been creating unique designs using many of the printing methods available. I used my creative skills when there are special occasions like birthdays, baby showers, baptismal, wedding ceremonies, most celebrations held by friends and family and gave them small gifts such as invitations, souvenirs, and other paper goods. 

Not only do I have knowledge in the creative, interest, and conceptual part of the design process, I have a vast knowledge of production experience and pre-press. Being a passionate observer of stationery trends, my love for stylish designs and appreciation in the beauty of art – I decided to come up with my own stationery designs and at the same time be remembered through my designs.

eLei (this is my nickname, others call me Lei short for Eleanor) offers custom stationery and graphic design services (custom invitations, custom notepads, custom greeting cards, business designs and other collateral materials). eLei is committed to high quality and affordable design solutions that will craft your business at a very affordable and reasonable rate and help you celebrate the most important events in your life using your style.”

Handmade Wedding Stationery Favours

Here’s a super easy DIY wedding stationery favour that you can give your guests to show them how much you appreciate them on your wedding day. I think there’s no other perfect way to give them thanks by personally handcrafting these beautiful goodies.

Tutorial

Things you will need:

  • Packaging
  • Kraft (brown) recycled cardstock
  • Kraft (brown) recycled paper
  • Eggplant colored textured cardstock (I used extra sheets of cardstock from the invitations that I did for my wedding , or any color cardstock that you wish to use – to match your wedding motif)
  • White or off-white felt lace ribbons
  • Twine
  • Paper roses
  • Scoring board (You will need to have one of this in creating the slip-on boxes for the pads)
  • Gift tag puncher (use a very tiny puncher just enough to insert the twine to make ribbons)
  • Double sided tape
  • Glue

Procedure

1. Create your desired size of stationery boxes from scratch by using a cardstock and a scoring board. I used a Kraft brown recycled cardstock to give a more vintage look on the boxes of the stationery pads. Crease the cardstock to mould the size of your stationery pads. Then glue the ends either with a sticky glue or double-sided tape. I wanted to give my guests two sets of pads with 20 sheets per pad. This will really be up to you if you want the stationery pads to be just blank or with a printed design.

Step 1

Step 1

2. Cut some nice felt lace ribbons (you can also easily make these from scratch if you have a felt paper and a decorative puncher), by measuring the size of your box and how you want to embellish the stationery box. I tried sticking the ribbons on the side with a double-sided tape – instead of sticking them on the centre just so it will give a more unique and creative look.

Step 2

Step 2

3. Create your own thank you tags by printing thank you notes on a sheet of paper. I designed my own thank you tag and printed them on a white sheet of paper.

Step 3

Step 3

4. After it is cut, glue the tags using your textured thick cardstock, just to add more texture and thickness on your tags. After you glue the tags, cut the tags into shape.

Step 4

Step 4

5. Add a little paper rose on the tags by sticking it on them to make it even more pretty. The paper roses can also be made from scratch or you can buy them in your favourite craft store at a very cheap price. Be sure to leave room so you can drill a hole on the tags.

Step 5

Step 5

Step 5

Step 5

6. Make some couple’s tags too to add in your thank you tags. Design and print your own couple’s tags on a Kraft paper to give the tags a more vintage and warm look. Cut the tags into shape. Glue the Kraft paper onto your textured cardstock to give it more texture and thickness feel. I decided to cut the tags by adding a quarter inch of purple border around it. Drill a hole onto the tags.

Step 6

Step 6

7. Assemble the tags together by putting the thank you tag on top of the couple’s tags using a twine.

Step 7

Step 7

8. Tie the tags onto the stationery boxes by making a ribbon.

Step 8

Step 8

eLei also used designed a personalised notepad for these particular wedding favours – I do love a bit of personalisation 🙂

Custom Notepads

Custom Notepads

Wedding favours don’t have to be expensive to make a lasting impression. What matters is that it came from the bottom of your heart.

By eLei – Facebook Page

About dottyvintage

Love Vintage, Love Weddings

One comment

  1. Latoya Smith

    Over the years I’ve received a lot of stationery that were printed with less than expected quality. Last year my company in Palm City FL, printed some stationery with PCA Delta and they were great. I’ve been printing with them ever since. If you need stationery printed go to http://www.pcadeltaprinting.com/ I strongly recommend them.

What do you think?

