Featured Supplier – ‘Love Vintage’ by Curly Chops Design

Curly Chops Design is the brain child of Faye Neo, an ambitious newly wed with a background in graphic design and marketing.

Faye has branched into wedding stationery and hire with her ‘Love Vintage’ range. I caught up with Faye and discussed her new business concept.

Can you tell me a little bit about the background of the company?

After working my frilly socks off in marketing & graphic design for a decade, I sadly found myself stuck in a stale & disgruntled office. I was the only creative person left & I stood out like a sore thumb with my big hair & skinny jeans! Eek, time to get out! And that’s exactly what I did in January 2012.

In my heart I knew that I wanted to start my own venture. As vintage style has always been a huge part of my identity, it felt right that this should shape my future business plans as well as our fast approaching wedding in June 2012.

I started to look for inspiration for our own wedding invites, & golly gosh there are plenty of stationery companies to choose from, but nothing really floated my boat, & they were so expensive! I wanted something vintage but with a quirky twist – informal in character but slick in appearance. That’s when I noticed a little niche in the market for myself, merging my marketing & graphic design background with my quirky vintage style.

So that was that. I had quit my job, was now planning to start my own ‘Curly Chops Design’ business, with my own ‘Love Vintage’wedding stationery range, doing a bit of voluntary charity work, while planning our wedding. Oh…..and we were in the middle of totally renovating our house, doing most of the work ourselves! Yep, I MUST be crazy!

At this point, I have to share one of the beautiful photographs from Faye’s wedding. I featured the wedding on the blog, you simply have to take a look, but here’s a sneaky peek.

Faye & Dean's Beautiful Vintage Wedding

Faye & Dean’s Beautiful Vintage Wedding

What’s been the hardest part of setting up your new venture?

I think one of the hardest parts was right at the start, when I had an internal battle with myself.

Can I do this?

Can I make it happen?

Am I good enough?

Of course the answer is “yes, yes & yes”, I guess I just got ‘cold feet’! As soon as I launched the business, the support & praise I received from friends, family & past clients was amazing. My diary is slowly filling with interesting design projects & lovely wedding bookings, and I love it!

Vintage Table Numbers by Love Vintage

Vintage Table Numbers by Love Vintage

RSVP Invite Design by Love Vintage

RSVP Invite Design by Love Vintage

I’m organising a Vintage Wedding – are you the right designer for me?

Very good question, so much so, I thought I’d share it on my Facebook page and see what brides-to-be are really looking for. Turns out, there is no ‘one size fits all’ solution, everyone is different, and everyone’s style, budget & requirements vary so much. Some busy brides have the briefest of briefs, while others know exactly what they want, and just need it brought to life. I guess the answer is; listen, be creative, be flexible and of course, be ‘vintage’!

Beautiful Bespoke Wedding Stationery by Love Vintage

Beautiful Bespoke Wedding Stationery by Love Vintage

Bespoke Order of Service by Love Vintage

Bespoke Order of Service by Love Vintage

Can you tell me about the different products you’ll be offering? Can people order a bespoke design or just buy ‘off the rack’?

You name it, and I can probably do it. While ‘Love Vintage’ by Curly Chops Design is my new venture, marketing & design has been ‘my thing’ for the last 10 years. So get me a budget or brief, & I’ll work my magic! I want to be able to offer the amazing things you see in bridal magazines, but honestly priced!

I will be offering ‘bespoke’ design & ‘off the peg’. However, as it’s still early days, I need to build my ‘off the peg’ range, sharp! With this in mind, I’m open to suggestions as to what my next range should be….love to know what your readers think!

Table Plan by Love Vintage

Table Plan by Love Vintage

Wedding Invitation

Wedding Invitation

Where do you see the company going in the future? Do you have hopes to expand?

I’m so excited about the future. I’m looking forward to establishing the company, expanding my ‘off the peg’ range, developing my own ‘signature style’, while working with lovely & interesting couples, as well as quirky businesses looking for that vintage touch!

At this stage, I’m not sure if I want to take over the world with ‘Love Vintage’ Wedding Stationery. I want to offer a service that is honestly priced to ensure the right mix of happiness & success, while making vintage & quirky couples very happy indeed!

Love Vintage Stationery is simply beautiful. But Faye also offers hire of wedding accessories, bunting and crockery too.

Vintage Wedding Hire by Love Vintage

Vintage Wedding Hire by Love Vintage

Beautiful Table Decorations

Beautiful Table Decorations

Vintage Crockery available to Hire

Vintage Crockery available to Hire

Vintage Books, Crokery & Pretty Flowers

Vintage Books, Crockery & Pretty Flowers

Vintage Bunting Hire by Love Vintage

Vintage Bunting Hire by Love Vintage

Faye is an absolute delight to work with and I would highly recommend that you take a look at her Facebook Pages for more information.

Curly Chops Design

Love Vintage Wedding Stationery & Accessories

You can also email Faye at hello@curlychopsdesign.com

L x

About dottyvintage

Love Vintage, Love Weddings

One comment

  1. Pingback: A Thank You Post! « Dotty Vintage Weddings

What do you think?

