Featured Supplier Q&A – Ben & Molly Wedding Photography

Ben & Molly Wedding Photography is run by Richard Hanmer, with help from his lovely wife Rebecca. They have two adorable children, Ben and Molly, who have been quite inspirational as you’ll read later on.

Ben & Molly

Ben & Molly

I came across their lovely sparkly new website on Twitter one evening and was instantly impressed by Richard’s natural flair for capturing intimate moments on film. His passion for photography is clear when you look through his portfolio and read a bit more about the background to this up and coming business.

I decided to do a little Q&A session with Richard to find out more…

Can you tell us a bit about the background of Ben & Molly?

I’m called Richard but my last name – Hanmer – sounds a bit odd.  So Ben & Molly is named after my kids – it’s sounds cute and is a bit more memorable too.

I’ve always loved taking photos and capturing what are often the most fleeting little moments fascinates me.

At family do’s I’ve always been the one with a camera in my hand and over the last few years it’s become more of a permanent feature. To begin with family and friends started to ask me to photograph their weddings and the word of mouth machine worked it’s magic and the wedding photography has become something bigger and I’ve just launched my gorgeous new website.

Ben & Molly Wedding Photography

Richard captures truly beautiful and unique moment

Have you always wanted to be a wedding photographer?

When I was little my dad always had a camera in his hand and I spent a lot of time sitting still in various parts of the world whilst dad remembered to take the lens cap off and tweak the focus.

Family holiday slideshows were projected onto a sheet or wall and I remember loving everything about it – the big image, the details, sharing the experience and re-living it with my family.  I find looking back at special moments in life really appealing – perhaps I’m quite nostalgic and sentimental so I’ve always had a fascination with photography.

But, wedding photography wasn’t on my radar until one of my sisters got married.  Everything about the day was beautiful and when I saw the photos I was blown away.  It made me realise I’d love to give it a go and a year later I got to shoot my first wedding.

Ben & Molly Wedding Photography

Capturing genuine emotions is something Richard is just naturally talented at

How would you describe your photographic style?

I want my photos to be as natural as possible – it’s about capturing those moments that last for a split second.  Often it’s a look between two people at a particular moment or there’s a wonderful expression that’s totally genuine and pure.   And sometimes staging a photo can create those moments too but in a more thoughtful way.  And I love looking for the funny and the quirky too.

Ben & Molly Wedding Photography

Intimate Moments

What challenges have you faced so far in setting up the business?

With a young family (Molly is only 9 months and Ben is 3) finding enough hours in the day to concentrate on the photography is hard.  At the moment I’m still doing the day job too.

Ben & Molly Wedding Photography

One of my favourite images from Ben & Molly Wedding Photography

What’s your favourite part of being a wedding photographer… and the least favourite?

Most favourite: When you know you have some really gorgeous pictures and you show them to the couple for the first time and you can really feel their joy.

Least favourite: Group shots.  They can be great fun but sometimes they can be a bit dry and often they take the couple away from mingling with their friends and family.

Ben & Molly Wedding Photography

Unstaged photos can be really magical

Where do you see the company heading in the future? Do you have any plans/hopes to expand?

Yes! I want to photograph weddings full time and it would be great if my Mrs (Rebecca) could be a permanent feature as she shoots as well.

Further Info & Contact Details

Based in Bristol, but able to travel further afield, Richard offers a full day’s worth of photography services, from getting ready in the morning right through until your first dance, for just £850.00, including a DVD of approx 350 high quality, edited photographs, along with a slideslow accompanied by music. For an additional £300.00, you also recieve a beautiful wedding album to store your special memories safely.

Ben & Molly Wedding Photography can be found at http://www.benandmolly.co.uk/ and they’re also on Twitter.

You can give Richard a call on 07771 693 712 or email hello@benandmolly.co.uk

Ben & Molly Wedding Photography
“Capturing your special day makes my day”

L x

About dottyvintage

Love Vintage, Love Weddings

What do you think?

