Introducing… Kate Hayward, Guest Blogger

I’m always intrigued by the different ways people approach planning their weddings. Some make obsessive lists, charts, spreadsheets and go a bit OTT with colour coding. Some bury their heads in the sand and leave everything until the last minute.
It is these different methods of madness that I want to focus on as part of the Dotty Vintage Weddings blog. I’ll now be featuring some regular guest bloggers, but of a special nature – brides to be. You’ll get to hear all about their wedding planning – the highs and lows, hints and tips, confessions and secrets. I also hope to feature each blogging bride’s wedding after the big day, and see if it was everything they dreamed of.

So it is without further ado that I am extremely pleased to introduce our first guest blogger for Dotty Vintage Weddings – Kate Hayward…

Thank you Laura for this opportunity and HELLO readers. As am I going to be sharing the adventure of planning my wedding with you, I thought I would start with some basic info, where I am now with my plans and my wedding philosophy.

‘Hello my name is Kate & I’m a Wedding Addict’

I have been since I was a little girl, and now I’m now 26, a church youth worker living in Hampshire, planning the wedding to celebrate my marriage to Edward, in Warwickshire/Coventry.

Another obsession of mine is crafting, having tried my hand at a few things, including silk & glass painting, recently I have focused of card, jewellery & charms and painting gift boxes & wooden shapes. To see what I do please check out my Facebook page Godiva Crafts

I also love cooking/baking, reading, going to the theatre and visiting old houses/buildings with Edward.

Proposal: June 2011 we were on holiday in Scotland visiting the ruins on Inchmahome, we had just finished our picnic lunch and watched as Danish tourist had videoed a tree for 10 minutes and argued about said tree when… and from there the stories differ. In short, I asked what was in his jacket pocket, he withdrew the box & it contained my (perfect) ring.

 

Wedding Vitals:

Date: Early January 2013                   Time of service: 1pm

Number of Attendants: My sister will be my 1 adult Bridesmaid,

1 little bridesmaid & 1 pageboy

1 Best man,

3 Ushers and

A team of friends and family who are amazing!!!

Number of Guests: 100ish

Venues: Church in the village I grew up in & where my parents still live and Coventry’s medieval Guildhall (with photographs in Coventry Cathedral Ruins)

Theme: Rustic/simple/seasonal without being Christmassy – using different textures and a touch of purple.

Planning time: We started the planning in January this year. So we will have had about 12 months total, and we are currently just over half way there.

 

Briefly the details we have sorted so far are: the date, the church, the reception venue, the car & bus, my dress, bridesmaids dresses, the save-the-dates have been sent (April), photographer, my accessories…

Currently working on the invitations

I would describe myself as a Crafty Bride.

Being a Crafty Bride, to me, simply means that I will be hands-on with creating things for the wedding, not to cut corners or save money, rather because I want to include my passion for crafting & for the day to incorporate that part of me.

 

Planning Mantras

Since I have been allowed to start planning our day, I have been reminded of two things by Edward:

No wedding is original, they are all unique because each is celebrating the relationship of two individuals and their love, life and journey together. However for most weddings the day itself is merely a variation on a set pattern, with personal flourishes.

Weddings are not a competition. As much as we all want to give ourselves the best day and our guests a great experience, we should not be trying to out do other brides.

When he first started saying these, especially the first, I got really irritated; as Brides our vanity wants our day to be the one that everyone remembers (for the right reasons), we like to think of everything being perfect and our guests overwhelmed.

Actually it should firstly be about celebrating the relationship & your love for each other, and after that it should be about you enjoying the planning and the day and it feeling its right for you.

Therefore the rule for all the time and detail I am putting into my day is this:

I want to know that if I was a guest at my wedding, I would be blown away.

If no one notices the ribbon around the pew ends, or the cloakroom tags or the handmade paper flowers, then that’s ok, because I know I would.

Everything in our day Edward has ‘sign off’ and when he tells that there’s something he want to include then I am making sure it is there – penguins, I kid you not, I am now looking to include penguins in our rustic, woodland wedding!

Ultimately we have come through a lot as a couple and as long as I become Mrs N, then I will be the happiest bride on earth!

A Quick Dinner Recipe

I would finally like to share with you my favourite quick and healthy dinner recipe with you, which can also double up as a yummy couscous salad.

Baked Wasabi Salmon with Roasted Mediterranean Vegetables

Serves 2 for dinner and lunch

Ingredients

2 Salmon fillets

Wasabi powder

1 lemon

Fresh Parsley Sprigs

3 carrots

2 courgettes

2 peppers

12 cherry tomatoes

4 gloves garlic

1 large red onion

Dried mixed herbs

Olive oil

Couscous

Yogurt

Cumber

Chopped fresh mint

Salt, pepper & lemon juice

Peel and cut 3 of the garlic gloves in half, cut the carrots, courgettes, peppers and red onion into chunks (about 1-2cm), place them in a roasting tray with the cherry tomatoes, a glug of olive oil and season with salt, pepper and herbs. Toss all together and put into a hot oven at 190°c.

Place the salmon, skin side down, in the centre of a piece of foil big enough to create a pocket. Add the juice of half a lemon, cut the remainder into quarters and place beside the salmon, add pepper to the fillets and sprinkle wasabi powder on the flesh of the fish, add a few sprigs of Parsley. Pull the long sides of the foil together and roll to secure, rolling at the edges ensure the foil pocket it sealed. Place in oven, and leave for 15-20 minutes until cooked, but juicy.

While the salmon and veg are cooking, mix the yogurt, mint and grated clove of garlic together and season with salt, pepper and lemon juice to taste.

Mean while make the couscous according to pack instructions, then mix in lemon juice and black pepper.

Serve the salmon with vegetables, couscous and the yogurt sauce. There should be far too much veg for two people, leave the excess to cool.

Once out have finished enjoying your dinner, remove any garlic from the remaining vegetables, chop into small pieces, mix into the couscous with extra lemon and pepper. A yummy summer lunchbox treat!

About dottyvintage

Love Vintage, Love Weddings

One comment

  1. Natalie

    Love you attitude and paper flowers!

What do you think?

