The Vintage Home

I’m really lucky at the venue I work for, as I’m always encouraged to come up with new events ideas and take them forward. We’re now holding a Vintage Interior Design Fayre on 1st September 2012 with everything lovely and vintage for the home – I can’t wait!

So, I thought I’d write a piece today about some of the rooms in the house, and a little vintage touch you could add to each one.

I stumbled across a fab company called ‘The Little Chic Boutique’ They’re based in Canterbury in Kent and restore furniture in the ‘Shabby Chic’ style. I really liked this Pine French Dresser which I think would make the perfect addition to the vintage kitchen. Guide price for this piece is around £245.00. You can either email them with your budget and requirements to check their current stock, or visit their Ebay shop to browse live auctions. Image sourced on their website.

Restored Furniture from the Little Chic Boutique

Shabby Chic French Dresser

Lovely Lane Interiors are based in Looe in Cornwall (I’m lucky enough to live very nearby!) and aside from their bespoke curtains, they also sell lots of homely nic nacs. I love this vintage plaque for the kitchen, so much so that it inspired me to make a cuppa. Image sourced on their website.

Vintage Plaque for the Kitchen

Lovely Lane Interiors – Vintage Plaque

My next two items come from the same shop on Not on the High Street. By the designer ‘Pip’ and stocked by Fifty One Perfect, I have the bedroom in mind this time around.

First of all, this beautiful patchwork duvet set is made from 100% cotton and made up from individually printed patches. Unmistakably vintage in style, I would probably give this to someone as a wedding present. NOTHS do actually offer a wedding list service, just for reference! A recent customer review of this duvet set says, “Wonderful! Both duvets look lovely in each room and bring much colour and cheeriness to the rooms”

Vintage Style Duvet

Vintage Style Duvet from Fifty One Percent

And from the same store, this wallpaper, named ‘Feeling Papergood’ makes for a stunning feature wall. Personally, I’d have this behind the bed as a focal point in the bedroom but it could work in other rooms in the house. They have a matt finish and a wipeable surface, so you could even use it in a playroom without the fear of colouring pencils! I love the brief flashes of colour mixed with the black and white background. Both Images sourced here.

Vintage style Wallpaper

Feeling Papergood by Fifty One Percent

Unless you’re doing a refit, the bathroom is probably one of the hardest places to embrace the vintage theme, as most of the space is already predetermined by the fixtures and fittings. However, you can still accessorise to inject the style of the past. I love the use of this vintage poster, in an otherwise modern bathroom. Image sourced here.

Vintage Print for the Home

Vintage Print in the Bathroom

You could also use a vintage shelving unit; I like the dove grey example below and the floral accessories are divine! Image sourced here.

Vintage Shelving Unit

Vintage Shelves for the Bathroom

I rent a house at the moment, and have a few vintage bits and bobs around the place. But it seems silly to invest too much into somewhere we won’t be forever. I must admit, I am looking forward to making it onto the property ladder (god knows when, I might add) getting my own place, and being able to really go to town with personalising!

L x

About dottyvintage

Love Vintage, Love Weddings

2 comments

  1. ohhh i love that vintage print in the bathroom…. im sure youll do a great job!!! X Cat

  2. Many thanks for your comment Cat, glad you like it. Feel free to follow the blog for more posts on interior loveliness in the future too. And you can find me on Twitter @DottyVintage 🙂

What do you think?

